“Late News” finds a home

A story I wrote very recently, “Late News,” has already found a home in an upcoming anthology by Wising Up Press. The anthology will be titled Out of Line, and its general theme is stories of “Halfs, Steps, In-Laws, & Belonging.”

This story is (yet another) part of the universe I seem to be creating for the characters in One-Match Fire, Parent Imperfect, and a few stray short stories. It involves the Curt and Kelly characters, well into their futures when they are both retired. They receive a bit of news that affects one of them so fundamentally he doesn’t know how to react.

This story takes place in approximately in 2056, and I realize I am tempting fate to imagine we’ll all still be around then. But the two characters are old men in the story, so I had to jump ahead a little.

I don’t know when the anthology will be out, but they’ve published several dozen. It will be in print format only, so you won’t be able to read it online. But if I keep writing stories about these characters, maybe I can collect them into a book of their own someday.

Explore posts in the same categories: Fathers and Sons

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment