just a game (I think)

There is, apparently, a sporting event of some import this evening. I’m not going to watch it, but I do have a child that sort of went to one of the colleges (the med school of that university) and a daughter-in-law who did go to one of the colleges (as well as the med school of that university). Their college is considered the underdog in this matchup, but I’ve never been one for conventional wisdom (writing included). So I guess I’ll be interested in the outcome when I rise on Tuesday. For those of you who aren’t familiar with college basketball in the U.S., I have a lot more in common with you than those who are familiar with it. In short, tonight’s game is the culmination of what is known nationally as March Madness. Normally rational, coherent people become obsessed with a game. So . . . whatever.

__________

In other news, I spent the weekend at at my little cabin in the woods, relaxing, doing chores, relaxing, drinking a few beers, sitting around a campfire, relaxing, and swimming in the lake (in April in the Missouri Ozarks!). The book I’m reading on my Kindle, Imagine, speaks of creative insights coming in moments of relaxation, when they are not expected. Suffice to say that the insights flowed. I made plenty of notes about various stories I’ve been pondering.

It makes a fellow think that he ought to spend a whole weekend alone with his computer at a cabin in the woods, relaxing and pondering the universe beside a campfire.

What do you think?

Explore posts in the same categories: Ramblings Off Topic, Rants and ruminations

3 Comments on “just a game (I think)”

  1. Annam Says:

    Well you did not miss much. The game was terrible, and I would have much rather spent that time reading a book 🙂

  2. LauraMaylene Says:

    A game, huh? March Madness? That’s my guess and I’m sticking to it. It already happened and I still have no idea and I kind of like it that way, actually.

    In response to your question about spending a weekend alone in the woods to relax and write: HELL YES! Ahem.

  3. Averil Dean Says:

    What do I think? I think I need a weekend like that, too.


Leave a comment